Karabakh has a total area of 4,400 square kilometers (1,699 square miles) and lies on the southwest part of Azerbaijan bordering Armenia and Azerbaijan. It has tall mountain ridges along the northern, western and southern boundaries and flat valley’s throughout the eastern part of the territory.

where is nagorno karabakh

The region encloses five administrative districts of Azerbaijan: Askaran, Hadrut, Agdere, Khojavand and Shusha. The main town is Khankandi, and its other major city, today lying partially in ruins, is Shusha.

The region of Nagorno-Karabakh is an enclave surrounded entirely by Azerbaijan; its nearest point to Armenia is across the Lachin corridor, roughly 4 kilometers across.